Saker Falcon

Falco Cherrug

Species name: Saker falcon
Scientific name: Falco cherrug

Locally known as: Hur

 

Description: The saker falcon is a small, powerful bird of prey with a broad wingspan for its size. It has sharp, curved talons for grasping prey, while their strong, hooked beak is used to tear its preys’ flesh. Their colour and pattern range from chocolate brown to a pale sandy colour with brown streaks, to almost pure white individuals.

 

 IUCN status: Endangered.

 

Key threats: Electrocution, habitat loss and degradation, illegal trapping and trade, poisoning and

 

Where they’re found today: Across the Palearctic region from Eastern Europe to Western China, with wintering or passage populations regularly recorded in the Mediterranean, Sub-Saharan Africa, the Middle East and South Asia.

 

Abu Dhabi efforts: For more than 20 years, EAD has been undertaking research and conservation efforts on breeding and migratory birds. EAD has undertaken extensive studies on the Saker ecology and movement in Mongolia and other parts of its range. Its effort to provide 5,000 artificial nesting sites in the Mongolian grasslands created new breeding opportunities for Saker Falcons in areas where natural nesting sites were scarce, with hundreds of pairs producing thousands of fledglings each year from the nests provided. In 1996, the late Sheikh Zayed bin Sultan Al Nahyan, Founder of the UAE, set up The Sheikh Zayed Falcon Release Programme, which has since helped more than 1,000 individuals return to the wild. A Saker Global Action Plan (GAP) has been developed by CMS Raptors Unit in Abu Dhabi.

 

Fun facts:

  1. They use their powerful, hooked beak to sever their prey’s vertebral column.
  2. They occupy abandoned nests of other bird species.

الصقر الحر

Falco Cherrug

اسم النوع: الصقر الحر
الاسم العلمي: Falco cherrug


الاسم المعروف محليًا: الحر


الوصف: الصقر الحر هو طائر صغير وقوي ينتمي للطيور الجارحة ويتسم باتساع طول جناحيه مقارنة بحجمه. وللصقر الحر مخالب حادة منحنية تمكنه من الإمساك بفريسته، بينما يستخدم منقاره القوي والمعكوف في تمزيق لحمها. ويتراوح لونه بين البني الداكن إلى الأصفر الرملي الباهت، مع وجود خطوط بنية على ريشه، علاوة على وجود أنواع يغطي جسمها بالكامل ريش أبيض تمامًا.


الحالة وفق القائمة الحمراء للاتحاد الدولي لحماية الطبيعة: مهدد جدًا بالانقراض


مصادر التهديد الرئيسية: الصعق بالكهرباء، وفقدان الموائل وتدهورها، والصيد والتجارة غير الشرعيين والتسمم


أماكن التواجد اليوم: عبر الإقليم الشمالي القديم من شرق أوروبا إلى غرب الصين، فيما تم تسجيل أعداد من صقور الحر تمر أو تقضي فترة إشتائها بمنطقة البحر المتوسط وإفريقيا جنوب الصحراء الكبرى والشرق الأوسط وجنوب آسيا.


جهود أبوظبي: عكفت هيئة البيئة - أبوظبي على مدار أكثر من 20 عامًا على إجراء الأبحاث العلمية وبذل كل الجهود من أجل المحافظة على الطيور المتكاثرة والمهاجرة. كما قامت بعمل دراسات مستفيضة حول بيئة الصقر الحر ومسار تحركه في منغوليا وأجزاء أخرى في نطاق تلك المنطقة. وقد نجحت جهودها المتمثلة في بناء 5000 عشاً صناعياً على الأراضي العشبية بمنغوليا في توفير فرص جديدة لتكاثر هذه الصقور بالمناطق التي تندر بها مواقع التعشيش الطبيعية، حيث أنتجت مئات الأزواج آلاف الأفراخ من الأعشاش التي تم بناؤها. وفي عام 1996، أطلق القائد والمؤسس المغفور له الشيخ زايد بن سلطان آل نهيان مؤسس دولة الإمارات، طيب الله ثراه، برنامج الشيخ زايد لإطلاق الصقور، والذي ساعد منذ إطلاقه في عودة 1000 صقر إلى البرية. كذلك، تم وضع خطة عمل عالمية للصقر الحر من قبل وحدة الطيور الجارحة التابعة لاتفاقية حفظ أنواع الحيوانات البرية المهاجرة في أبوظبي.


حقائق ومعلومات:
يستخدم الصقر الحر منقاره القوي والمعكوف لكسر العمود الفقري لفريسته لدى الإمساك بها.
يعيش الصقر الحر في الأعشاش التي هجرتها أنواع الطيور الأخرى.