Dugong

Dugong dugon

Species name: Dugong
Scientific name: Dugong dugon


Locally known as: Baqr alt bahr

 

Description: The Dugong, the only marine herbivore, is a grey-brown animal that has a powerful fluked tail and small front flippers, which act like paddles to stabilise it when it swims. Their forelimbs are also used for scratching, mouth-cleaning and supporting the body when resting. Their movement is often slow and graceful. An air-breathing mammal totally adapted to life at sea, it spends much of its time grazing on the seagrass.


IUCN status: Vulnerable


Key threats: Entrapment in abandoned fishing nets, habitat loss, marine pollution and boat collisions.


Where they're found today: Dugongs are found in Australia, the Arabian Gulf and parts of the Red Sea, northern and eastern coast of East Africa, Sri Lanka, India, Indonesia and the Pacific Islands. Australia has the largest population of Dugongs, followed by Abu Dhabi.


Abu Dhabi’s efforts: EAD has been protecting and studying the Dugong since 1999. We protect population of around 3000 Dugongs, mostly in the waters of Marawah Marine Biosphere Reserve (MMBR) and Al Yasat Marine Protected Area. Bu Tinah in MMBR has the densest Dugong population in the world. The UAE is signatory to the United Nations Environmental Programme - Convention on Migratory Species Dugong Conservation Memorandum of Understanding and has joined Dugong range states to protect them and their habitats globally, regionally and locally. EAD also host the office of the Convention on Migratory species at our headquarters in Abu Dhabi. Long-term research and conservation plan carried out by EAD includes regular aerial survey of the species, investigation of mortality, satellite telemetry to study migration, and study of genetics.


Fun facts:

  1. They are more closely related to elephants than to marine mammals such as whales and dolphins.
  2. They are often referred to as “sea cows” because they feed almost exclusively on seagrass.
  3. They sometimes breathe by "standing" on their tail with their heads above water especially when the sea condition is rough.

بقرة البحر (الأطوم)

Dugong dugon

اسم النوع: الأطوم

الاسم العلمي: Dugong dugon


الاسم المعروف محلياً: بقرة البحر

 

الوصف: أبقار البحر هي الوحيدة بين الثدييات البحرية التي تتغذى على الأعشاب. تتميز باللون البني- الرمادي ولها ذيل قوي مفلطح وزعانف أمامية صغيرة، تستخدمها كمجاديف لتساعدها في الاستقرار عند السباحة. كما تستخدمها أيضًا لتنظيف الفم ودعم الجسم عند الراحة. حركتها غالباً ما تكون بطيئة ورشيقة. تتنفس الهواء وتتكيف تمامًا مع الحياة في البحر، وتقضي معظم وقتها في الرعي على الأعشاب البحرية.


الحالة وفق الاتحاد الدولي لحماية الطبيعة: معرضة لخطر الانقراض


التهديدات الرئيسية: الوقوع في شباك الصيد المهجورة، وفقدان الموائل، والتلوث البحري والاصطدام بالقوارب.


مواقع الانتشار: توجد في أستراليا والخليج العربي وأجزاء من البحر الأحمر والساحل الشمالي والشرقي لشرق إفريقيا وسريلانكا والهند وإندونيسيا وجزر المحيط الهادئ. تحتضن أستراليا أكبر عدد من أبقار البحر، تليها أبوظبي.


جهود أبوظبي: تقوم هيئة البيئة - أبوظبي بحماية ودراسة مناطق تواجد أبقار البحر منذ عام 1999، حيث تقوم بحماية حوالي 3000  بقرة بحر، معظمها موجود في المياه المحيطة بمحمية مروح البحرية للمحيط الحيوي ومحمية الياسات البحرية. تضم جزيرة بوطينة أكبر كثافة عددية من أبقار البحر في العالم. ودولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة هي من  الدول الموقعة على معاهدة المحافظة على الأنواع المهاجرة، ومذكرة التفاهم بشأن حماية وإدارة أبقار البحر التابعة لبرنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة، وقد انضمت إلى دول انتشار أبقار البحر للمحافظة عليها وحماية موائلها على المستوى العالمي والإقليمي والمحلي. تستضيف هيئة البيئة - أبوظبي أيضًا مكتب سكرتارية معاهدة المحافظة على الأنواع المهاجرة في مقرها الرئيسي بإمارة أبوظبي. وتقوم الهيئة بتنفيذ خطة طويلة المدى للمحافظة على أبقار البحر تتضمن إجراء مسح جوي منتظم، ودراسة حالات النفوق، ومراقبتها عبر الأقمار الصناعية لجمع بيانات عن بيئتها وأنماط حياتها ومسارات هجرتها.


حقائق ومعلومات:

  1. يرتبط تشريح هذه الحيوانات ارتباطًا وثيقًا بالأفيال أكثر من ارتباطها بالثدييات البحرية مثل الحيتان والدلافين.
  2. يشار إليها غالبًا باسم "أبقار البحر" لأنها تتغذى بشكل حصري تقريبًا على الأعشاب البحرية.
  3.  تتنفس أبقار البحر أحيانًا عن طريق "الوقوف" على ذيلها ورأسها فوق الماء خاصةً عندما يكون البحر هائج.