Camel Spider

Galeodes arabs

Species name: Camel Spider
Scientific name: Galeodes arabs


Locally known as: Yamel Al Aqrab


Description: The Camel Spider is large, tan, hairy, and ferocious-looking. It is also known as the Wind Spider, Sun Spider or Wind Scorpion. Camel spiders are carnivores.They eat bugs, lizards, small birds and rodents. They are fast runners and adapted to desert living.


IUCN status: Endangered


Key threats: Habitat loss


Where they’re found today: Commonly found in Middle Eastern deserts, Camel Spiders are primarily nocturnal and flee from the sun. They can be found nearly worldwide although they are restricted to desert and semi-desert habitats within the continents they do inhabit.


Abu Dhabi’s efforts: According to Federal Law No. 24 of 1999, it is prohibited to collect them. Establishment of various protected areas are helping to ensure conservation of suitable habitat and to prevent disturbance.  EAD undertakes continous monitoring of the species, within and outside protected areas.


Fun facts:

  1. They are not deadly to humans (although their bite is painful), but they are vicious predators that feed on insects, rodents, lizards, and small birds.
  2. They have large, powerful jaws, which can be up to one-third of their body length. They use them to catch their victims and turn them to pulp with a chopping or sawing motion.
  3. They are not venomous, but they use digestive fluids to liquefy their prey’s flesh, making it easy to suck the remains into their stomachs.

عناكب الجمل

Galeodes arabs

الاسم العربي: عناكب الجمل، الشبث العربي
الاسم العلمي: Galeodes arabs

الاسم المحلي: جمل العقرب


الوصف: كبيرة الحجم، معدنية اللون، مهدبة، وحشية المظهر. تعرف أيضاً باسم عناكب الريح أو عناكب الشمس أو عقرب الريح. وتتميز هذه العناكب بأنها من آكلات اللحوم، فهي تأكل البق والسحالي والطيور الصغيرة والقوارض. تجري هذه العناكب بسرعة كبيرة وهي متكيفة بشكل جيد مع الحياة الصحراوية.
الوضع الراهن حسب الاتحاد العالمي لحماية الطبيعية: مهددة بالانقراض  


التهديدات الرئيسية: فقدان الموائل


أين توجد اليوم: شائعة في صحاري الشرق الأوسط. وتتميز عناكب الجمل بأنها ليلية النشاط في المقام الأول، وتتجنب التعرض لضوء الشمس. يمكن العثور عليها في جميع أنحاء العالم تقريباً على الرغم من أنها محصورة في الموائل الصحراوية وشبه الصحراوية داخل القارات التي تسكنها.


جهود أبوظبي: يحظر جمع هذه العناكب بموجب القانون الاتحادي رقم 24 لعام 1999 في شأن حماية البيئة وتنميتها في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة. يساعد إنشاء مختلف المناطق المحمية على ضمان الحفاظ على موائل مناسبة لها ومنع التشويش عليها. وتتولى هيئة البيئة - أبوظبي المراقبة المستمرة لهذا النوع داخل المناطق المحمية وخارجها.


          
حقائق ومعلومات:

  1. عناكب الجمل ليست قاتلة للإنسان (على الرغم من أن عضتها مؤلمة)، لكنها حيوانات مفترسة وشرسة تتغذى على الحشرات والقوارض والسحالي والطيور الصغيرة.
  2. لديها فكان كبيران قويان، قد يصلان إلى ثلث طول جسمها. تستخدم عناكب الجمل هذا الفكان للقبض على الفرائس والتهامها.
  3. ليست سامة، لكنها تستخدم السوائل الهضمية لتسييل جسد فرائسها، مما يجعل من السهل امتصاص البقايا في بطونها.